Updating Results

CSIRO - UQ Responsible Innovation Program

Key details

$32,096 per annum
Number Offered

About this scholarship

The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) is an independent Australian federal government agency responsible for scientific research. Its chief role is to improve the economic and social performance of industry for the benefit of the community.

The CSIRO-UQ collaboration on Responsible Innovation was established to build and raise the profile, scale and credibility of social science expertise in the ethical, social and legal consequences of new and disruptive science and technologies in the Australian innovation system. [CSIRO logo]

The CSIRO-UQ Responsible Innovation PhD program provides an opportunity to attract outstanding graduate students with a strong interest in applied social science. This PhD cohort, all focused on exploring similar governance questions and societal challenges but across multiple technology platforms, provides a rich research environment that delivers valuable scholarly and applied outcomes across multiple disciplines and research organisations. PhD students will be jointly supervised by experts from both UQ and CSIRO.

Eight scholarships available

Four scholarships are currently available with three available to Australian Citizens, Australian Permanent Residents and New Zealand citizens and the other scholarships available to an international or domestic student. This group will form a CSIRO-UQ Responsible Innovation cohort. Each of the students will work on one of the projects below.

Scholarship value

The scholarship offers a living stipend of $32,096 per annum. This includes a base scholarship of $27,596 (indexed annually) plus a $4,500 per annum top up, for up to four years. You will also have a project budget of up to $16,000 over the course of your PhD candidature to complete the project attached to this scholarship.

Important dates

Applications close: 15 April 2019
Shortlist and interview: late April 2019
Outcomes announced: mid May 2019
Successful applicants commence: July 2019


  • Female
  • Male
Eligible Study Fields
Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences